LASER stands for Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation.

Types of LASER.


Name of LASER


Classification on the basis of

State of LASER medium Nature of Output Spectral region
1. Nitrogen laser 337 nm Gas pulsed Ultraviolet


Dye laser 400-900 nm Liquid pulsed/continuous Visible/Infrared
3. He-Ne laser 632.8 nm Gas pulsed Visible
4. Ruby laser 694.3 nm Solid Continuous wave Visible
5. Carbon dioxide laser 10.6 µm Gas Continuous wave Infrared

Random Posts

  • Conductors and Insulators

    Conductors and Insulators: Conductor: The material which allows the electric current to pass through it is known as a conductor. […]

  • Classification of materials

    Classification of materials: On the basis of their physical properties, the materials can be classified into following four types.   […]

  • United Nations

    It is an association of nations which have pledged themselves to maintain peace and they will co-operate in solving the […]

  • Function of an ecosystem

    Function of an ecosystem: Each ecosystem performs some functions in a systematic manner. The major seven functional aspects of the […]