Seven Summits on Seven Continents of the Earth.

General Knowledge

Seven Summits in the world:

The Seven Summits are comprised of the highest mountains on each continents of the Earth: Mount Everest in Nepal and China border, Mount Aconcagua in  South America, Mount Denali/ McKinley in North America,  Mount Kilimanjaro in Africa, Mount Elbrus in Europe and Mount Vinson Massif in Antarctica.

 First summit:

Mount Everest

Continent- Asia

Country – Nepal and China

Mountain Range – Himalaya

Elevation – 8,848 meter

First ascent – On 29th May 1953 by Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay.

This is the earth’s highest mountain above sea level and ranked first in the world. This mountain range located in the Mahalangur Himal sub-range of Himalaya. China- Nepal border runs across this summit point. The elevation of this peak is 8,848.86 meter above sea level in 2020. The native names of this range are Sagarmatha in Chinese, Chomolungma in Tibet and Chomolungma in Chinese.


 Second summit:


Continent – South America

Country – Mendoza province in Argentine

Mountain Range -Andes

Elevation – 6,961 meter

First ascent – In 1897 by Swiss climber Mathias Zurbriggen

This is the mountain in principal cordillera of Andes mountain. In Mendoza Province of Argentina. This is the highest mountain in the Americas. The elevation of this peak is 6,961 meter above sea level.


 Third summit:

Denali/ McKinley

Continent – North America

Country- United States

Mountain Range – Alaska  

Elevation- 6,194 meter

First ascent- On 7th June 1913 by Hudson Stuck, Harry P. Karstens, Walter Harper, Robert Tatum.

Denali mountain peak is also known as Mount McKinley. This is the highest mountain peak in North America with elevation of 6,190 meter above sea level. Denali is the third highest and also third isolated peak on earth after mount Everest and Aconcagua.

 Fourth summit:


Continent – Africa

Country- Tanzania

Mountain Range – Eastern Rift Mountains

Elevation- 5,895 meter

First ascent- On 6th October 1889 by Hans Meyer and Ludwig           Purtscheller.

This peak is dormant volcano in Tanzania with three volcanic cones: Kibo, Shira and Mawenzi. This is the highest peak located in Africa and highest single free standing mountain in the world with an elevation of 5,895 meter above sea level.


 Fifth summit:

Mount Elbrus

Continent – Europe

Country- Russia

Mountain Range – Caucasus Mountain

Elevation- 5,642 meter

First ascent – In 1874 by Florence Crauford Grove, Fredrick Gardner, Horace Walker and the guides Peter knubel and Ahiya Sottaiev

On 22 July 1829 lower summit by Killar Khachirov.

This is the tenth prominent peak in the world and highest peak in Russia and Europe situated in the western part of Caucasus mountain. This dormant volcano rises 5,642 meter above sea level. This is the highest Strato volcano in Eurasia.


 Sixth summit:

Mount Vinson Massif

Continent -Antarctica

Country- Antarctica

Mountain Range – Sentinel

Elevation- 4,892 meter

First ascent- In 1966 by Nicholas Clinch and party

The elevation of this mountain is 4,892 meter above sea level. This large massif is 21 km long lies within the Sentinel range of Ellsworth mountain in Antarctica. This was discovered by U. S. Navy aircraft in January 1958.


Seventh summit:

Puncak Jaya/ Carstensz Pyramid

Continent – Australia

Country- Indonesia

Mountain Range – Sudirman range

Elevation- 4,884 meter

First ascent- In 1936 by Colijn, Dozy and Wissels.

In 1962 by Harrer, Temple, Kippax and Huizenga.

The Elevation of this mountain is 4,884 meter above sea level. This is also known as Carstensz Pyramid. This is the highest peak in Mount Jayawijaya or Mount Carstensz in Sudirman range is the highest mountain in Indonesia, on island of New Guinea. The peak was named after Dutch Explorer Jan Carstensz.