General Knowledge


Sikhism was founded by Guru Nanak Dev during the lateral medieval period. He was followed by nine other gurus in succession.

Guru Nanak Dev:-Guru Nanak Dev was born at Talwandi (now called Nankana Sahib) in Pakistan in 1469. He got enlightenment at the age of thirty years. He did not believe in caste system and superstitions. He traveled almost all over the country to preach his message.  

Guru Angad Dev (1538-1552):-He was the second guru. He started the system of langar, In which all the peoples. irrespective of caste and social position dine together.

Guru Amar Das (1552-1574):- He was the third guru. He was against the purdah system and caste system. He was a social reformer.

Guru Ram Das (1574-1581):-He was the fourth guru. He was the founder of holy city of Amritsar.

Guru Arjan Dev (1581-1606):- He was thee fifth guru. He built the popular Golden temple. He compiled the holy Granth Sahib.

Guru Hargobind (1606-1645):- He was the sixth guru. He built the Akal takht opposite to Golden temple.. He spent the last days of his life at Kiratpur Sahib.

Guru Har Rai (1645-1661):- He was the seventh guru. He died at the age of 30 years.

Guru Harikrishan (1661-1664):- He was the eighth guru. He died when he was a small boy.

Guru Teg Bahadur (1664-1675):- He was the ninth guru. He was beheaded by the Aurangzeb when he refused to accept Islam. He is known as “HIND KI CHADDAR”. He sacrified his life to protect the Hindu religion from the attack of Aurangzeb.

Guru Gobind Singh (1675-1708):- He was the tenth guru. He was born on December 26, 1666 at Patna. He succeeded his father Guru Teg Bahadur at the age of nine. He created Khalsa on April 13, 1699. He passed away in 1708 at the age of 42 at Nanded (Maharashtra).

After the death of Guru Gobind Singh, the Guru Granth Sahib is regarded as the Guru or Spiritual guide of the Sikhs.